Tuesday Tennis

During the last weekend some interesting things happened. Robby Ginepri came out of nowhere and capitalized on that mediocre field in Indy defeating Sam Querrey in the final, while Nikolay Davydenko won the bet-at-home.com open. Pretty ironic the guy who was blamed for throwing matches and had his own gambling controversies won the BET-AT-HOME.COM OPEN!!!

35950aThis week I’ll focus on the L.A. Tennis Open, which I’ve already attended yesterday and will make three more appearances at this week. Yesterday, I watched Donald Young get destroyed in the final rounds of qualifying by Carsten Ball. Ball looked pretty impressive on the grandstand. He’s a big lefty server. He crushes the serve at about 135 mph, while he also has a pretty good backhand. The forehand is a bit suspect, but I really liked what I saw out of him. He plays Marc Gicquel today. I was very disappointed in Young, however. He really just raised the white flag and gave up in the match. He lost the last seven games, and it’s beginning to look like he’ll never amount to what he was supposed to. He can’t handle the heat and the power behind big hitters, and his ball bounces right in the big hitters strike zone. Young may be a lost cause for America. The next match I saw was a battle of Americans, Jesse Levine against Bobby Reynolds. This match was actually a first round match. Jesse Levine proved way too good for Reynolds. I’ve never seen Reynolds or Levine live before this, but I’m astonished Reynolds is in the top 100 and Levine isn’t. Reynolds can not, I repeat can not, hit a backhand to save his life. All he can do is slice or chip it back, so naturally going against a lefty, you could say would be his kryptonite. When i see a match like this, I wonder how hard it really is to play top 100 tennis if Reynolds can do it, or if Reynolds has even beaten a lefty in his career! I’m going to give him the benefit of the doubt, he’s played top 100 ball for a while, and I’ll hold my judgment until I see him against a right-handed player around 100 in the world.

I look forward to the rest of the week at Straus Stadium. Tommy Haas, Mardy Fish, Marat Safin and Sam Querrey headline some of the matches this week. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

